Dear Mawmaw,

No, this isn’t really a letter to my super-rad mawmaw, but I thought I’d throw a little nod in her direction since I haven’t talked to her in ages. Actually, (with the exeption of Amy) I haven’t talked to any of my devout readers in quite some time. Sorry…I never was one to keep in touch. I did try for a while, though; I have notebooks full of half-finished letters to people I’ve met at conventions and art camps…most of the time I don’t even remember who the person is either. Shame shame.

Have any of you read “Into the Wild” yet? I am serious, I will mail you my own personal copy if you want to read it and can’t find it any other way. In fact, I think I might just start my own “Into the Wild” foundation; I’ll raise money to buy thousands of copies of the book so everyone in the whole world will get a chance to read it. Ok, maybe not quite. But you should read it. I love it…I honestly don’t even know how many times I’ve read it now.

Anyway, if you have read the book, you’ll know what this next paragraph means – if you haven’t read it, you can probably figure it out. I have decided that when I finally graduate college (2 years?) I am going to go to the bus. Yep. For a whole two weeks (because I am still a city girl at heart and don’t think I could survive any longer)…with more than a ten pound bag of rice (because I don’t want to starve to death). Anyway, you can go up there and take jeep tours and stay in hotels but I just don’t think that’s right. I mean, I’m making a pilgrimage to this place that is basically a memorial to a guy who couldn’t stand capatalism/greed/materialism. So, I’ve got to at least try to do it right! It is called Into the Wild after all. I’m excited (already). And when I come back I shall have thousands and thousands of beautiful pictures of the lovely Alaska wilderness. Yay!

 Wow, this has been quite a random and senseless blog. Oh, right, it’s 4 in the morning, that could be why. Anyway, I stayed up until 3 yesterday finishing a speech and so that’s probably why I haven’t been able to sleep.

However, I did finish (sh, don’t tell my Life Stages in Literature prof. – I wasn’t supposed to finish until next week) a fantastic book! “Kindred” by Octavia Butler is by far one of the best books I’ve read in a while. That is obviously excluding “Into the Wild,” but since you all already know how I feel about that… Anyway, it’s interesting. Very thought-provoking because all of the characters (even the “bad” ones) are so detailed that you react very strongly to the things that happen. Read it (after you read “Into the Wild”). If you have read it, what did you think about it?

Ok then, I’m going to have anoter go at sleepy-time in the delicious down comforter. Wish me luck and toodleoos everyone!

2 Responses

  1. I hope you got some much needed sleep!!!

  2. hi love,
    appreciated your message..will have to read your suggestions after i get my eyes fixed. can’t see much until i get my prescription changed…then onto the other eye. annie and mark were here last night and he was saying that if the whole city was gone he hopes the library will be left. i feel the same/ continue ylove youour messages.

Leave a Reply

