Operation

*Bzzzzz* Yeah, that game always freaked me out. I felt horrible everytime I “killed” the poor dude. Andrew Bird has a song on his new cd about it. It’s quite amusing and of course it’s a great song. For those of you who don’t know Andrew Bird…he’s like a one man band with really good instruments. In this last cd I’ve picked out (so far) a violin (and he’s awesome), a harpsicord, an accordian, a piano, a ukelele, a mandolin, and he whistles a lot too. Wow.

Speaking of, I’m getting my operation done next Friday (the 9th). They’re pretty sure that I have interstitial cistitis (IC), but they want to do a biopsy and a few other things so they can be sure it’s not something else. I’m supposed to be there at 7:30 am to prep for it (Ivs and such), it starts at 10:30, and it’s probably going to last about 2 hours. Anywho, I can’t eat or drink after midnight the day before (not even water!). So, this is what they’re going to be doing. First (thank goodness!), they’re going to put me out. They’ve got a tube that’s about the size of those kindergarten pencils, and on the end of it is a lense that lets them see inside. They’re going to put that up my uretrha (ow, I already had that part done once and it hurts! I’m just glad I won’t be awake for it this time!) and “take a look around.” After they do that they’re going to do a biopsy, meaning they’re going to get a little bit of the tissue from different areas of my bladder so they can test it. Then they fill it up as much as it can go…until it’s about to pop; they look to see if there’s any scar tissue (also a sign of IC). That last part is also a part of the treatment…so.

 Anyways, I’m probably going to be doped up and in bed for the rest of the weekend after that, so I’m gonna have to go to the library this week and find some good books. Any suggestions?

3 Responses

  1. Take care of yourself… let others do for you… rest… and know that you’ll be in our thoughts.

    Wish I had a list of good books for you to read, but all I have is a list of books that I’ve been wanting to read.

  2. My all-time fav is Beach Music by Pat Conroy. It’s long, but you would love it, I think. I even bought the hard copy and have it displayed in my living room…that’s how much I like it! I’m not one to usually read a book more than once, so this is my exception. I sure hope you get some answers and are feeling great as soon as possible!!

  3. Thinking of you today, Leah – hope all’s going well with the surgery.
    love,
    your cousin, Amy

Leave a Reply

