Such a gifted child!

My boyfriend Mark is teaching a gifted children’s class and he asked me to put some questions together for a questionaire to give to his students. I finally got it all done and decided to fill it out. If anyone thinks of some other interesting questions or notices something that should have a different wording…let me know, eh?

What is one movie that you could watch over and over?

            Amelie

What genre of music do you listen to the most? What do you like about it?

I listen to a lot of indie (short for independent) music. Although, what I listen to is even less popular than the music that people think of when they hear the term indie. I like it because it’s so different than everything else. I think that people with talent tend to be those who would rather be different than popular. Therefore, truly independent/indie artists have a higher chance of being talented so their music is more likely to be good. In other words, I like good music.

Do you think about things before you do them?

Sometimes, but it’s not something that comes natural to me. I’m more of an impulsive person, but I’ve learned that sometimes that’s not always a good thing.

Do you like to read? What is your favorite book? What about it appeals to you?

I love to read, but I don’t really have a favorite book. There are several that I could and have read many times, though. I like Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card; After the Plague, by T.C. Boyle; the Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling; the Anne of Green Gables series, by L.M. Montgomery; and A Wrinkle in Time (and many others), by Madeline L’Engle. I would have to say that the one thing that all of these books have in common is how descriptive they are. The authors all write in a way that makes you feel like you are there without you having to try to imagine it.

Do you prefer the idea of certainty or theory?

Certainty

Do you have any phobias?

            I don’t like slimy things or small spaces.

Do you like to dance?

            No, I’m not coordinated at all

Do you like to sing?

            Yes, but not so much in public.

Do you play any instruments? If so, which?

            Yes, I play the violin, piano, and guitar.

Do people tell you that you act older, younger, or your age?

People usually say that I act older than I am (unless they catch me in a particularly goofy mood and then they look shocked to find that I’m not ten).

Do you have any talents that people are surprised to find out about?

Not unless you count my ability to stay out in the summer heat and carry heavy things around.

What is something or someone that you miss from your childhood?

            I miss my pawpaw that died when I was ten.

Did you ever have an imaginary friend?

No, I never really needed one since my parents so kindly produced automatic friends for me.

What is the funniest thing that has ever happened to you?

I suppose this is something that is funny to other people, although, it’s more embarrassing than funny to me. When I was in the 1st grade, I was very bored with school. My parents had taught me my letters and numbers and such long before I got into kindergarten. So by the time I got to the 1st grade and we were first learning to read, I hated it. To fight my boredom I would (at least once a day) ask for a hall pass to go to the restroom. Once there, I would pull out all of the toilet paper so that it made this huge pile on the floor, then I would stuff it all into the toilet and leave it there; from there, I proceeded to do this to every single one of the toilets. The teachers were sending home notes to parents asking them to talk to their children about the proper use of toilet paper, because all of the stalls were clogging up. They didn’t know who it was until I went into the bathroom in the gym (there was only one) and a teacher went in after me. They had to call my parents in and have a meeting with them about it!

What is the scariest thing that has ever happened to you?

I got in a wreck my senior year while I was driving home from school and my little sister was with me. She was really disoriented and scared and she was talking really strangely. I didn’t even care what had happened because I was so afraid that something had happened to my sister.

When you think about events in the past, do you get a picture or words?

            A picture

When you die would you rather be buried or cremated?

            I want to be cremated because I don’t want to be remembered as a corpse.

How often do you “go out?”

            About once a week

How would your mother or father describe you?

            My mother would say: “She’s certainly different.”

My father would say: “She’s very creative, she’s a people person, and she’s really smart.”

  

What are the three things about you that people around you seem to like best?

I can usually think of fun things to do, I’m pretty sensitive to what people need, and I can make fun of myself.

What are the five most important things in your life?

Five of the most important things in my life are: my relationship with Mark, my family, creativity in general, responsibility and consciousness of one’s actions, and music.

Would you rather be considered realistic or innovative?

            Innovative

Would you rather talk or think about something that you’ve just learned?

            Talk

Would you rater teach a course that deals with facts or with ideas?

            Ideas

Are you usually late, early, or right on time?

            Late

What is something that you don’t want to live without?

            Passion

What is something that you enjoy that might surprise people?

            Proofreading

What was your worst subject in school? Why?

            Math; I’m just not a very concrete person

What was your best subject in school? Why?

            English; I read a lot

If you could only choose one sense to keep; would you choose touch, taste, smell, sight, or hearing?

            Hearing

How do you want to die?

            Old age or skydiving

Would you rather be in an accident or cause an accident?

            I would rather be in an accident.

How do you want to live?

            Creatively

If every aspect of your life was about to change, and only one thing was going to remain the same, what one thing would you choose?

            My relationship with Mark

Do you remember your dreams? If so, what do you dream about the most?

            Dying or accidentally killing people

If you found out that you only had 15 minutes left to live, how would you spend it?

Reassuring my family and friends of how happy I was and how much I love them; trying to convince them not to be sad; and listening to some really good music.

What is your greatest “claim to fame?”

            Probably my violin

If you were to be cremated, where would you want your ashes to be put?

            In the ocean

If you were to be buried, what would your epitaph read?

            Something about changing the world! J

If you wrote an autobiography, what would its title be?

            Addled, Awry, and Ambitious

If you could change your name, what would you be called?

            Pearl Jazz

If you were a company, what would your motto be?

            Somewhat late, but super duper great!

If you were snowed in and cut off from the rest of the world for three days, how would you pass the time?

            If last January was any clue, I’d spend it playing poker.

Would you rather do the dishes or clean your bedroom?

            Clean my bedroom…at least I’d be able to enjoy it for more than three seconds.

Would you rather go a month without internet, or a month without TV?

            A month without TV

If you had one wish, what would it be?

            I would wish that my life would leave a positive impact on the world.

2 Responses

  1. Looks pretty good. You know, you always wanted to be called Pearl when we had plays and stuff when you were little!

  2. I don’t remember that! Funny. 🙂 I was/am such a weird kid! Pearl and Jazz are both names of guitar picks. Hm.

Leave a Reply

